top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Barth

Coupe Icare!

Bonjour! My second week of classes went well, I really love my professor and my classmates! This week was relatively low-key because my friends and I are trying to save travel money for our big trip to Italy over mid-semester break. Therefore, Friday I went for my first run in Grenoble! It was so pretty and such an amazing way to experience more of the city. Then, we had a big cake testing at the program director’s office where we tasted different “gateaux” of the region. Of course they were all splendid, but my favorite was the chocolate moose cake.


There were many manifestations (protests) in Grenoble this week, or as I heard from friends and family, in the entire world this week on climate change and Global Warming. I love how Europeans are not afraid to protest and demand that changes be made, because if we do not do anything then nothing will happen. There are at least three protests a week. They can be a little inconvenient when they shut down public transportation because then I have to walk everywhere, but I do respect and value the French people's desire to stand up for themselves and their rights. I also do not mind getting steps in!

However, the manifestations this week were beautiful and we got to see one up close and personal which was a great experience that we do not have a lot in the US, although I am hearing that is changing, which is good!

Saturday was super fun because we got to see the 46th annual Coupe Icare which is a huge, world-renowned festival where people jump off of the mountains with parachutes and hot air balloons all while wearing funny costumes. You can see my video and pictures there were lots of daring people from all throughout the world. I felt very French in this traditional festival :). Finally, Saturday evening we experienced what it is like to go to the cinéma en France. It’s very similar to the US (the French really like their films,) and we saw It 2–highly recommended if you like horror films. It was a very fun day!

Sunday was a chill day, I did a lot of homework and cleaning, but we also took time to celebrate La Journée du Patrimone where many private government and historical buildings open their doors to the public for just one weekend. It happens all throughout Europe, but it was very special here in Grenoble. My friends and I saw the Préfécture de Verdun which was spectacular, the Tour Perret, and the Basilique Sacré-Coeur (an old Catholic Church here in Grenoble).

Overall, it was a really great week just staying in Grenoble and experiencing more of this wonderful city and of French culture. As of yesterday, I have exactly 3 months left here which seems like a lot, but I also can’t believe it has already been one month. I miss everyone at home, but I’m absolutely loving France!

Until next week, Rachel

26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page