top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Barth

Le Retour des Alpages!

Hello! This weekend was super fun! Thursday we had a big cheese tasting at the AIFS office where we got to try many authentic French cheeses of many different regions. My favorite was probably the goat cheese! Friday I got up early to run around Grenoble, and I began to think about how when I run in the US I won’t be able to see these beautiful mountains anymore! I’ve still got two months left in Grenoble, but I’m already sad about leaving! Friday afternoon my friends and I took another tram line all the way to the end and explored “Le prisme” side of Grenoble. It was a very cute little town with lots of nature and parks. We eventually found a park with a really nice hiking trail, and that was very fun! It was a steep, difficult trail, but it was good exercise and there was a good view at the top😁 Plus, Friday was absolutely BEAUTIFUL weather here.


Saturday we went back to the incredible town of Annecy, France for their famous festival, “le retour des alpages” it was very crowded but very fun! Again, another cultural thing that you wouldn’t be able to experience in America. I’ve included several videos and pictures, but the festival was very traditional with lots of fun animals like goats, cows, and sheep being herded by people dressed in traditional outfits and dancing to folk music. We also got to eat a lot of food! We tried the apple beignet which Annecy is famous for (also in my pictures), and it was so good! I also tried a great pastry with raspberries and nuts—amazing! Annecy is also famous for Tartlette which are like cheesy potatoes, but they most often had ham in them which I cannot eat :(. They also had lots of garlic and Diot (sausages). It was very good! After that we were all exhausted and went right to sleep.


Sunday I went on another run with my friend right along the river. It was beautiful!! Then we explored a traditional French market in Grenoble. It was very cool and a great cultural experience. They sold everything from jewelry to pots and pans to fruits and vegetables. I love that they have so many markets here, at least in Cincinnati, there aren’t nearly as many! I think it’s a cultural thing mostly, but I would much rather spend more money at a market knowing that all my food is home-grown and organic than spend money on the cheap stuff at Walmart or meijers. The rest of Sunday I spent doing homework and studying (midterms are only a week away!) in my host mom’s beautiful courtyard. I also had time to call a few friends/family and clean my room. It’s so rejuvenating to talk to people that I miss back in the states. I now feel prepared for this week! I still absolutely love it here, and I cannot wait for our trip to Burgundy next week and our trip to Italy in 2 weeks! I’m so blessed to be traveling everywhere and seeing so much of the world. This is an amazing experience! Thank you all for supporting me ☺️


Rachel


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page